theBRB Banner

Forum      Theater      Contests      Stockpile

Welcome Guest.

Login | Register

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Subtracting The Lightsaber  (Read 2420 times)
Blank avatar

Moriarty

« on: July 18, 2005, 02:17:09 AM »

Hey guys,

I'm getting stuck into my little movie with involving a duel - the only problem is I've encountered some obscurities that I need to get rid of. Following Ryan W's tutorial on how to rotoscope lightsabers (I am a novice at after effects, so bear with me) I was starting to get the hang of it all - but uinfortunately I've become stuck with the subtraction part of the process.

Ok, basically the scene has two lightsbares contacting each other. One of the lightsabers currently is going through someone else arm, which I need to get rid of.

Viewing the tutorial, it states that I have to add another mask, go to the point of the footage where the obscurity happens and then go to the frame before hand. Clicking on the stopwatch of the mask, I add an additional mask which I cover over the area I need to subtract. I also put SUBTRACT in the timeline box.

After this has been done, the effect doesn't seem to take place. I put the subtraction on after I've rotoscoped the lightsaber, before I put the effects on it. Is this the correct procedure?

Can somebosy please make a little tutorial guide for me? I know that's asking for a bit, but It's really bugging me that I can't resolve this and I've tried tinkering around with different things but to no avail.
I'm using Adobe After Effects.

Any more info just ask...
Blank avatar

djr33

« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2005, 02:36:13 AM »

1. Rotoscope like normal. Finish, be done.
2. Make a new mask for where it needs to not be shown.
3. Apply this to the layer which the saber's blade lies upon. You should do it to the original version, not the overlayed already glowing one as that would create a sharp edge. *or you could feather. But thats more complex than matters.